2 Comments
Apr 3Liked by Meghan Kowalski

Easter is really the only holiday that gives me a little pang of regret that I don't have children -- I am agnostic, deity-wise, but I was raised Catholic and went to 13 years of Catholic school & Mass every weekend. I love dyeing Easter eggs, and I love how excited kids get when they're doing an Easter egg hunt.

My best thing is a vivid memory I had of a field trip my 5th grade class took to a Laotian refugee community in Charlotte. Each classmate was assigned a little Laotian kid, and we had an Easter egg hunt with them, and then played on the playground together. Most of the children were much younger than us, and nobody spoke English. They were newly arrived to the U.S. But an Easter egg hunt seemed to translate seamlessly -- we all had fun. The little girl who was my partner was about 4, and she took me into the little apartment where she and her mom stayed. (I don't think that was technically allowed, but she had to use the bathroom.) It was very eye-opening to 10 year old me; I don't think I had been aware of what refugees even were before that day.

Expand full comment