11 Comments

Okay, I'll bite — in this case Oatmeal Cookie Dough Bites. My wife has a long plane ride on Friday, so I made a batch (recipe: https://nutritionfacts.org/recipe/oatmeal-cookie-dough-bites/) for her to take with her. They're an interesting contrast to most manufactured snacks. From a manufacturer's POV "satiating" is a design flaw, so most manufactured snacks are delicious but not filling. These little bites, in contrast, are quite filling (and also very tasty).

This is a best thing because I like making food. Today I also started a batch of chickpea-and-rye tempeh (which will ferment for three days) and got a very interesting recipe for a beet and garlic ferment. (I am currently enjoying a recent batch of Beets & Leeks, a ferment I've made a few times. I made up the recipe just because I liked the name, and it turns out to be delicious.)

Expand full comment
Jan 4, 2023·edited Jan 4, 2023Liked by Meghan Kowalski

Micro Four Thirds…specifically the Panasonic LUMIX GX7. As an amateur photographer, I have quite a collection of great Nikon, Minolta and Hasselblad cameras and lenses. But they are heavy. A few years ago, I switched to M4/3. Best thing ever for my back. Equipment is much lighter but can still shoot 12MP digital images and video.

Lens maker Leica makes great (small and lightweight) lenses for this format.

When I want more than my iPhone delivers camera-wise, I pick up a M4/3 camera and lens.

I took the pictures on our Christmas card with it and I bring it on vacations. And I look forward to getting a great picture of Abby with “Zach and Zelda.” :-)

Expand full comment
Jan 4, 2023Liked by Meghan Kowalski

Ha, the West Wing figured into my college trajectory in a different way: I double-majored in English and poli sci, intending to be Josh, but realized that more so than wanting to do politics, I was drawn to the show’s writing and narrative, so I focused on English.

Expand full comment
Jan 4, 2023·edited Jan 4, 2023Liked by Meghan Kowalski

When my son was little 20 years ago, I was a struggling single Mom and we had to make every dollar count. My Mom told be to buy Cream of Wheat because a little goes a long way and it's healthier than a lot of processed cereal back then (especially if you cook it with milk).

About two years ago I picked up the instant packets of the brown sugar flavor and I ended up giving it away because the taste was really gross to me.

I decided to give it another try this week only, I bought the kind without flavoring added and you cook on the stove. I added a bit of salt, butter and brown sugar and instantly (pun intended) was brought back to when my baby boy was a small child.

Expand full comment
Jan 4, 2023Liked by Meghan Kowalski

The West Wing is my mother's favorite show. I have never seen it. I find politics -- even fictional politics -- too upsetting. I tried to watch Veep and it stressed me out, so I never made it past the second season.

My best thing is a podcast by Amanda Montell, who wrote the linguistics book Cultish. The podcast is called Sounds Like A Cult. Her co-host is a comedian named Isa Medina. It's very funny and fascinating, and the two hosts have a great rapport.

Expand full comment