6 Comments
Jan 31Liked by Meghan Kowalski

There's a Roku channel called FlashBack 80's where they only stream 1980s music videos. I like to watch it when I fold laundry. It's mostly pretty mainstream -- lots of hair bands and Madonna and Bruce Springsteen -- but every once in awhile, there will be something inexplicable that I've never even heard of.

My best thing is that on Monday, my aunt/Godmother took me out to Petit Louis (a French bistro in Baltimore) for my belated 50th birthday present. My mom and another aunt came with us. It was fun and the food was delicious. I had French onion soup, a croque monsieur sandwich, frites, and best of all, dark chocolate pot de crème for dessert.

Expand full comment
author

Both that 80s channel and restaurant sounds amazing. I adore a good French onion soup.

Expand full comment
Jan 31Liked by Meghan Kowalski

It was perfect. It was so hard for me to eat it politely -- I wanted to tear off bits of the melted cheese with my fingers so that none of it got wasted.

Expand full comment
author

My dad always said that this soup and any long pastas were probably not good picks for interviews and first dates.

Expand full comment
Jan 31Liked by Meghan Kowalski

Smart! Thank goodness I've never had to interview at a lunch or dinner. I would find a way to spill salad dressing all over the table or myself.

Expand full comment
author

Same. I would have found a way to make a mess eating just a piece of bread.

Expand full comment